After a secret has been checked out, you must delete the lease to check it back in. For managed secrets, you can decide to simply delete the lease or force the secret to be rotated at the same time.
Note:
You can only rotate managed secrets.
Deleting the lease for a managed secret does not automatically rotate the secret. You need to click the Delete and Rotate button if you want the secret to be rotated.
If you select Delete and Rotate for a secret without exclusive checkout, then all other current checkouts of the secret will be invalid. All users with that secret checked out will need to checkout the secret again.
Procedure
From the Cryptographic Security Platform Vault for Secrets webGUI, select Checkouts.
Select the secret that you want to check back in.
Click Delete Lease.
On the Delete Secret Lease page, choose one of the following:
Click Delete to delete the lease and check in the secret without rotating. This is the only option for non-managed secrets.
Click Delete and Rotate to delete the lease and rotate the secret.
Note: You can also check in secrets from the Checked Out tab on the Box page that contains the secret.